Coincidentally, while walking home that day, I strolled by my local fruit vendor and for the first time noticed the beautiful pile of green water chestnuts on his basket. spray)1 small jar pimento (4 oz. Oops! Garnished with finely sliced Kaffir lime leaves, sweet red pepper, fresh basil and served with fragrant Jasmin rice, this luscious curry is full flavoured with just enough heat to make it interesting. Combine the oyster sauce, dark soy sauce, and water in a small bowl. Slice chestnuts into thin slices along length. ), drained1 can sliced water chestnuts, drained1 can (4 oz) slice mushrooms, drained1 can cream of mushroom soupsalt & pepper to tasteCrushed Ritz crackers, or shredded cheese, or crumbled French-fried onion rings. It’s not like I’ve never used bamboo shoots before, but they usually come out of a tin, and look like tender shoots or tips. Cool. https://www.tasteofhome.com/collection/water-chestnut-recipes These “bamboo shoots” are more like large pieces of bamboo, about 3 inches in diameter (see picture below), and much tougher than a traditional shoot, but full of flavour. Splash of rapeseed oil. All rights reserved. Blanch the king prawn first then add the vegetables for 2 minutes and drain. Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I have a can of each and can't for the life of me think of how to include them in a dish/recipe. Pound in mortar until you get a coarse powder. Thorn Tree is currently set to READ-ONLY mode. They are often compared to water chestnuts, corn or fresh artichokes, with a tender flavor that is similar to hearts of palm. Would you like any meat in the recipe? Garnish with chickpea flour, sesame oil, and remaining shallot-garlic-chili mixture. Cover and cook on low until chicken is tender, 5-6 hours. Finely chop the garlic. Recipe for Water Chestnuts and/or Bamboo Shoots. More information can be found by viewing the following announcement. In fact the bamboo stem is used as a tube for steaming dishes on an open fire acro